The Only 3 Country Flags That Are Not Rectangular And What Do They Represent

We all know that country flags are rectangular, following the 2:3 ratio. But there are three notable exceptions to this rule, NepalSwitzerland and the Vatican City.

The most strange, of course, is Nepal’s flag, with the shape being chosen to represent the Himalaya Mountains:


On the other hand, we have Swiss and Vatican city flags which are square:


Swiss flag is square for honouring the Swiss batallions who, in 1815, created flags with the white cross and the red background in the square shape of their clothing.

Vatican’s flag is square with it’s stripes being white and gold, something which violates the rules of tincture. This is because the Vatican follows the rules of God and not man’s!

If you like what you read, then you will definitely love this one: The Flag Of Philippines Changes Every Time The Country Is In War

Photo: geralt / Pixabay

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Can You Please Take off the Ad Blocker First